Ilya Y.

Ilya Y.

My name is Ilya. I am 19 years old and was born in the city of Alchevsk Luganskaya. 

At birth, doctors dropped me because of this I developed cerebral palsy.  I studied in the city of Alchevsk until the age of 11, I went to art school, tried to learn different languages at home so that my brain activity would get better and better.  But my condition has not improved much, and even now I am trying to physically develop my right arm and leg.  At the age of 10, my dad left us, and at 11, I had to move to Odessa due to the fact that a war broke out in my region and my city.  I moved to Odessa. There I graduated from school, and was an excellent student, and went to University and now I am a 3rd year student at the National Polytechnic University, my profession is called "International economic relations and regional studies."  All this time I have been studying remotely. 

I have a lot of interesting hobbies. I love learning new languages, taking pictures, programming, editing videos and volunteering. For 6 years I volunteered in one Ukrainian organization in Odessa, I connected to such projects as "good lunch" which fed grandmothers for more than 2  years.  I really liked Odessa, but due to the fact that the war happened, I had to leave the country with my mother. Because of my diagnosis, my condition worsened against the backdrop of the war. 

Now I live in Germany in the city of Mannheim, at the moment I am taking German courses in order to continue to speak this language normally and communicate calmly with people in different parts of the world.  I really want to return to Ukraine after the end of the war.  And work in my specialty, and be the best in it.


07 December 2022